Search

Fenwick :: Elite Tech River Runner

 

Fenwick Elite Tech River Runner

Overall Customer Rating: 4.67 of 5 stars Fenwick Elite Tech River Runner Rods 4.67 out of 5 (15 Reviews)
Manufacturer: Fenwick
Series: Fenwick
Model: Elite Tech River Runner

Fenwick Elite Tech River Runner models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

ERR72L-F-2

7' 2"

2

1/32 - 5/16

4 - 8

Fast

Light

ERR68UL-F-2

6' 8"

2

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Fast

Ultra Lite

ERR76L-F-2

7' 6"

2

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Fast

Light

ERR58UL-F

5' 8"

1

1/32 - 3/16

2 - 6

Fast

Ultra Lite

ERR62SL-MF-2

6' 2"

2

1/32 - 1/8

1 - 4

Med. Fast

Super Lite

ERR68L-F-2

6' 8"

2

1/32 - 5/16

4 - 8

Fast

Light


* All Elite Tech River Runner Rods specifications from the official Fenwick catalog. Fenwick reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about Fenwick Elite Tech River Runner

 
Fenwick Elite Tech River Runner

Not sure what to think.

2013-08-05T01:59:45

8/5/2013 1:59:45 AM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

Don't have an opinion yet because the first 2 I ordered got broken during shipment, and the 3rd got sent back due to poor QC. I ordered the 7'6" 2 piece and the blanks don't fit together. There's a 3/4" gap between the blanks when I put the two together. Is it supposed to be that way?
Reviewed by: Troutdude (Pa.)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech River Runner

Trout killer

2013-05-16T22:35:59

5/16/2013 10:35:59 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I can't seem to say enough about this rod. I have the 6'2 sl and it is a dream to fish with. i love the hidden handle which allows me to fish with complete comfort. I have caught numerous rainbows and browns up to 22" with this rod. The backbone is awesome and the sensitivity is beyond any rod in this price range. I own the a G.Loomis Trout & Panfish GLX that cost two hundred dollars more and don't even like it as much as this elite tech river runner. Way to go Fenwick. I am truly a fan now and will be a long time customer to come.
Reviewed by: ErikV (NC)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech River Runner

2012-11-15T13:40:21

11/15/2012 1:40:21 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

As for the Elite Tech River Runner, it's a very nice stick. My only beef is it's a two piece, but in all honesty I have not had a single misalignment or separation issue with mine in the two seasons I've fished it. Very well made, the action is spot on and overall is a joy to fish with.
Reviewed by: uljersey (New Jersey)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech River Runner

Hidden gem!

2012-11-15T12:12:41

11/15/2012 12:12:41 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is a remarkable rod, I saw one being used at the river and asked the person using it what it was...Fenwick? I thought they made fly rods? I got home, searched for it online, read reviews, saw what it was made of and was just amazed. Lifetime warranty, SiC inserts, unique handle design, and a great choice of lengths. I mainly fish for coldwater species, such as Trout and Salmon, so this rod is just perfect. It puts my 2011 Compre to shame. SiC inserts are awesome, just as good as Titanium but a fraction of the price. This rod has everything you could ever want in a freshwater and even waltwater rod.
Reviewed by: Matri (Winooski, VT)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech River Runner

Great Rod

2012-09-03T12:11:30

9/3/2012 12:11:30 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Very sensitive and not flimsy. Feels awesome in your hand. Light with quality guides. I have a President on it right now, but I would like to put a CI4 or Patriarch on it. Lifetime warranty.
Reviewed by: wolfewiz (Kentucky)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech River Runner

6'' 8" UL River Runner

2012-08-19T12:10:21

8/19/2012 12:10:21 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Just took delivery of my 5th Fenwick rod, I have 1 fly rod & 3 other spinning rods. My 1968 5'6" FF55 spinning rod is also an UL, but rated at 1-4 lb test line. One other reviewer states his 6'8" is a true UL with a backbone. I agree with the backbone, but would say this rod leans some to the light category as is my 6'6" Fenwick Eagle GT rating.
I have not fished with this rod yet. But being a retired packaging engineer, I wrote Fenwick the day the rod arrived. I complained that the 2 plastic zip ties securing the rod to 1 of the 3 panels of the triangular shipping carton could possibly damage the rod if an impact happened to this panel. I did find 2 issues that I explained to Fenwick.
One was the line guide at the end of the 'female' spigot rod end was bent, it was not perpendicular to the rod by about 3/16". The other was the 3rd guide from the tip was bent too, it's angle to the rod was dif than the other guides, and after closer examination, had little epoxy opposite the windings.
I fixed both problems myself by some gentle bending & a reinforcement of epoxy in several locations. I inspected the entire rod using an inspection 5X power eye piece. Dispite these 2 problems, this IS a quality rod! The metalflake colors are a sight to see under 5X. The factory epoxy on the windings are smooth and accurate. So I still gave the rod a 5, it deserves it. And it will fish as good as my other 4 rods have!
Reviewed by: RichardES (Granger IN)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech River Runner

Hands down one of my FAVORITE fishing rods

2012-07-10T12:09:05

7/10/2012 12:09:05 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

For trout fishing aside from using a fly rod, this is THE BEST in my opinion compared to any spinning tackle on the market. I own two versions of this rod and can't put it down during fishing season. I own the 7'2 L and 6'2 SL and sore lip trout and every other fish in between every time out. The sensitivity on this rod is exceptional but still has enough strength to handle bass. I've used both from bream to trout to bass and they hold up great. The hidden handle is extremely comfortable and gives you a full grip compared to other rods that leaves you with a gap where the reel seat is located. The guides are super slick and smooth and allow for great release of line for greater casting distances. I can cast a trout magnet up to if not over 20 yards with these rods compared to my other light tackle spin rods. The tac on the rods is a major plus when your hands get wet, it provides even better grip so you wont lose your rod. I highly recommend this rod if you are serious about using light tackle on big fish. You will not be disappointed.
Reviewed by: bowhunter (North Carolina)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech River Runner

6 '' 8 " U / L

2012-06-11T12:08:01

6/11/2012 12:08:01 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod paired with a Stradic CI4 1000 is the best trout outfit i have used.
I have also caught bass on this up to 6 lbs. and many crappie.
This gear is a little pricey but well worth it.
Reviewed by: fpaulsen

 
Fenwick Elite Tech River Runner

7''6" Light

2012-05-13T12:07:14

5/13/2012 12:07:14 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I am a big fan of Shimano and 98% of my gear is made of Shimano high end reels and rods. But I needed a longer light power 2pcs rod that Shimano doesn't carry to fill in the gap. It never crossed my mind before to go with Fenwick and it took me awhile to convince myself and after reading numerous review about this River Runner. I finally ordered the 7'6" Light 2 pcs online and tried it in the next weekend throwing light jigs and spoons. The rod surely can cast, the tip is sensitive, not whippy, the grip is excellent, the hidden seat is something new to me but it is a good stuff. Like other reviewers have written, this rod can handle not only trout but bigger fish. I had a small12" trout hitting my spoon and it felt like a freight train hitting it. You will know for sure when you have a strike. Note: Make sure you set the hook hard because of the light parabolic action of this rod. I think this would be a great rod for drop shot as well.
Great rod for 1/2 the price of Shimano Cumara Spinning. But Shimano is still my main line up and this Fenwick is a secret weapon for when things need to go finesse and light. The Fenwick River Runner is no Shimano Cumara, but you can count on it and buy it with confidence. I surely going to get a second one.
Reviewed by: jean (Los Angeles, CA)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech River Runner

Great Trout Rod

2012-04-24T12:05:11

4/24/2012 12:05:11 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I used this rod for the first time on the White River, AR for trout. What a great rod for the price. I bought the 7'2 light action rod. Its a great two piece design that wont come apart when your fishing. It cast and balanced well with 1/4 oz lures up to 2/5 oz lures. It had a great action that fought 14 inch trout well in fast current and light line.
I will buy a couple more for sure!
Reviewed by: Shudy (East TN)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech River Runner

Amazing rod

2012-03-28T12:04:22

3/28/2012 12:04:22 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I love this rod! I have the 6'8" light model and used it for the first time recently to throw some light Rapalas and spinners for trout. I'm glad I went with the light and not the ultralight because that extra backbone is nice for the bronzebacks! The water I fish for trout also has a ton of smallmouth that can get pretty big. Using 4 lb. line, I hooked a 15" smallie with a big fat belly on her with my 3rd cast. The rod performed exceptionally well as I took my time landing her. Very comfortable in my hand and the sensitivity you typically only find in rods costing twice as much! I will definitely purchase another of these rods!
Reviewed by: anythinggoes (Grand Rapids, Michigan)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech River Runner

awesome

2012-02-12T12:03:27

2/12/2012 12:03:27 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

amazing rod, you could feel everything, the 5'8" one was perfect for the stream that i was fishing
Reviewed by: FishMan

 
Fenwick Elite Tech River Runner

Lets get down to the point

2012-01-10T12:02:15

1/10/2012 12:02:15 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

PROS: Super lightweight rod, beautiful design, moderate price.
CONS:Hand grip is to short and not comfortable, Balance is off. Trust me i tried this pole with a 5.9 oz reel and once you put your hands on the rod,the weight of rod is transfer toward the tip . It makes jigging for trout hard because you are constantly holding the weight of the tip up. That kills all the sensitivity of the pole. Although this pole is good for spinners.
Because of the weight balance i couldn't give this rod a 5 out of 5, but would i ever buy another one? NOPE, heading in different direction.
Reviewed by: SUPERTROUTMAN (Mexico, Albuquerque)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech River Runner

Amazing value

2011-11-15T12:01:13

11/15/2011 12:01:13 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I bought the 5'8". It is as light a feather and has a crisp action. It has titanium frame guides. The grip design is great. Fenwick has a winner here.
Reviewed by: JerryR (Mexico, Albuquerque)

 
Fenwick Elite Tech River Runner

1 of Fenwicks Best

2011-10-23T12:00:10

10/23/2011 12:00:10 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

These rods which I now have 2 to are becoming my favorite to bring fishing. I own the 6 ft 8 in ultra light and the 7 ft 6 in light action. Casting is effortless and the grip is very comfortable. I have landed an 8 lb brown trout, and lakers, smallies, and perch. The rods fish like one piece tho they are 2 piece. A homerun series for sure!
Reviewed by: WillepNY (NY)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the Fenwick Elite Tech River Runner Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: