Search

Benefits of G. Loomis models.

To review G. Loomis models, please click on the screen shot of interest.

If you are using G. Loomis rods please write your experience.


 

Fishermen's opinions about G. Loomis

 
G. Loomis

Poor Warranty

2014-07-19T15:17:33

7/19/2014 3:17:33 PM

I purchased a 20-45lb GL2 for salmon. I take excellent care of my rods, including using rod socks. The rod broke in half just above the first guide. The customer service employee wanted another $100.00 to replace the rod. I got rid of the two remaining Loomis rods I had and will stay with Calstar, Seeker, and or Lamiglass. I have less confidence in their rods than they do. I refuse to throw good money after bad.
Reviewed by: Mike C (So. Cal)

 
G. Loomis

Gloomis green water glx

2014-06-04T04:05:05

6/4/2014 4:05:05 AM

Bought this rod 7-6 green water inshore glx. While replacing the guides with titanium sic tangle free Fuji k guides the rod builder when he removed the guide second from top the rod came apart and exposed a steel rod. Called Gloomis warranty and the replaced the whole rod even though I removed the original guides. Excellent service! Thanks Gloomis!!!
Reviewed by: Lucky (South Pacific )

 
G. Loomis

loomis reviem

2014-04-26T14:53:40

4/26/2014 2:53:40 PM

fast tip like most rods today. Crankbaits no. Jigs great. Just never jerk a snag out as like all rods . Saw many good rods abused that way . Have many rods for intended purpose and am quit selective. I learned my lesson amen
Reviewed by: 55yrs . . Student of the angle (pgh pa.)

 
G. Loomis

We will c

2014-03-17T20:41:29

3/17/2014 8:41:29 PM

I broke the tip on my IMX while casting a spinner bait. I sent it back, I sure hope I get good results, because I really love a g loomis rod.
Reviewed by: Matt (Alabama)

 
G. Loomis

loomis warranty/quality

2013-12-03T13:00:18

12/3/2013 1:00:18 PM

owned a streamdance 9' 6wt that was purchased as a streamer rod. first time I used it,rod snapped 6'' above cork while stripping wooly bugger.called loomis customer service and told I must have damaged the rod prior to use since rods don't leave factory with flaws. they offered to replace rod for $350. rod went to the trash and every chance I get I share this story with my clients.needless to say I will never own another loomis.
Reviewed by: montana fishing guide (twin bridges,mt)

 
G. Loomis

G Loomis warranty not worth the paper its written on

2013-05-28T12:10:41

5/28/2013 12:10:41 PM

Since Shimano bought them, they no longer have blanks and want to replace for half price so they have nothing out of pocket. Used to be a lifetime warranty. Years ago they replaced my IMX with no questions. Now my little IM6 custom trout rod they says was overloaded and is not a defect. Like I am going to overload a 4x two piece trout rod on a little Wisconsin stream. BS. Never buy a G Loomis again.
Reviewed by: Thomas Carlson (Minnesota)

 
G. Loomis

GLoomis Warranty not worth the paper it is written on

2013-05-28T11:34:13

5/28/2013 11:34:13 AM

Bought F784 IM6 and IMX Steelhead Custom Rod Blanks. Wanted top quality and liked the "Lifetime Warranty". Broke the IMX a few years ago on a big steelhead, replaced with no questions asked.

Broke my IM6 on the RIsh River in Western Wisconsin on a 12 to 13" trout. Put on the best components possible a the time 10-15 years ago. Nickel silver rod seat, burlwood, silicon carbide guides (no snake eyes). I get it that Loomis quit making blanks, but now they say it will cost me $169.00 polus $20.00 handling to replace it with Pro4x. Basically half price for half the rod. I complained and after about 4 phone calls, the Manager calls me back to tell me the NEW story that is was not a defect, it was my fault. BS. I handle my rods with care and they could not claim there were scratches or other damage on the rod. Shimano (who bought them) simply does not want to honor the real warranty. So the NEW offer is $100 out my pocket when my IMX broke (interesting two of the supposed best rods in the industry) and it was replaced for the handling fee. I would rather build a Sage now. No more G Loomis rods ever.
Reviewed by: Thomas Carlson (Minnesota)

 
G. Loomis

2012-11-12T08:35:36

11/12/2012 8:35:36 AM

G. Loomis rods are great when you need super sensitivity. They excell at things like drifting for Steelhead, where you are needing to constantly feel the bottom and detect subtle takes.

For casting and reeling in soft plastics you should be fine spending half what you would on the G. Loomis...
Reviewed by: SDK (Raised on L.I. and currently in Nashua, NH)

 
G. Loomis

2012-11-06T08:41:50

11/6/2012 8:41:50 AM

I have several GLX's, a couple IMX's. 1 legend extreme, Several legend elites and a couple avids.1 cumara, 2 diawa compile x rods.
My favorite is the loomis pr844s glx. Mainly use it with tubes ,etc. It works well with everything else to.
All my others work well but are not as versatile.
The cumara works well for a 200 dollar rod. Doesn't compare with the better rods.
My diawa's are their most sensitive but don't compare in sensitivity to loomis and st croix. The way they set a hook is amazing. Just lift and the fish is hooked. Not even close to being worth 505 dollars.
Personally I don't think a loomis is worth a 100 more than a st croix when comparing apples to apples.
I'm not too crazy about the 100$ loomis wants for their expidited service or whatever you call it.
For a waranty I think I would choose st croix.
There are so many variables in a rod it's hard to figure out exactly which one to get..
There are big differences from imx to glx in the same rod. It doesn't automatically mean the glx works better either.
I would take the legend elite and extremes over the avid.
For the most part I prefer st criox .
You really have to think about what you want that rod to do.
Fast tip, slower tip or moderate. What power. How light a lure you will throw or how heavy. Using cranks, jerkbaits, spinnerbaits, live bait, or plastics.
Luckily I was able to get my rods much cheaper than retail.
Reviewed by: Freddy

 
G. Loomis

2012-11-06T08:40:06

11/6/2012 8:40:06 AM

All 3 of the St Croix rods I have owned are in the trash because they wanted too much money for replacements. All my Loomis rods are still being used. I am just expressing my personal experience with the different company. I also own Fenwick freshwater rods when they had a lifetime warranty on their rods.I broke an Eagle graphite and they sent me a HMG for shipping only. A five year warranty just does not do it, lifetime is forever.
Reviewed by: littletunnie

 
G. Loomis

2012-11-06T08:38:40

11/6/2012 8:38:40 AM

Most of my freshwater rods is G Loomis including travel rods. Excellent rods with great customer service. I broke a tip of my $400 rod while fishing Call them up and they replace the rod with NO question Ask .Representative call me back asking , if I receive the rod and satisfied with a service . Their new NRX rods is fantastic (but quite expensive) .
Yes it's worth every penny -Service and Quality
Reviewed by: genavorn (Brooklyn , NY)

 
G. Loomis

The best rods you can buy

2012-10-17T20:47:01

10/17/2012 8:47:01 PM

I tried all other manufacturers of rods, Loomis has never disappointed me . They don't make a bad rod.
Reviewed by: sdccarpentry (limerick PA)

 
G. Loomis

Great Rods

2012-10-17T19:48:58

10/17/2012 7:48:58 PM

Nice fishing rod, great action. We would highly recommend G.Loomis rods to all fishermen.
Quality and value at a reasonable price.
Reviewed by: Cattleman (Humboldt County California)

 
G. Loomis

2012-07-06T08:36:38

7/6/2012 8:36:38 AM

In my opinion they are worth every penny,, and mine have lived up to some serious fishing over the years and that is all I use in that size range.
GL2 and IMX Series Rods are perfect for tossing and jigging soft plastics and small swimmers.
Reviewed by: NIGHT STRIKES (Coastal~Ocean Co.,N.J.)

 
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: