Search

Daiwa :: Surf & Jetty Rods :: Sealine Surf

 

Daiwa Sealine Surf

Overall Customer Rating: 4.39 of 5 stars Daiwa Sealine Surf Rods 4.39 out of 5 (28 Reviews)
Manufacturer: Daiwa
Series: Surf & Jetty Rods
Model: Sealine Surf

Daiwa Sealine Surf models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Casting

SLS1102HFB

11'

2

2 - 8

20 - 50

Fast

Heavy

Light Action

SLS1002LSS

10'

2

1/4 - 1/2

6 - 15

Slow

Light

Light Action

SLS1202LSS

12'

2

1/4 - 1/2

6 - 15

Slow

Light

Light Action

SLS1302LSS

13'

2

1/4 - 1/2

6 - 15

Slow

Light

Light Action

SLS1402LSS

14'

2

1/4 - 1/2

6 - 15

Slow

Light

Spinning

SLS702MFS

7'

2

1/2 - 2

10 - 20

Fast

Medium

Spinning

SLS802MFS

8'

2

1/2 - 4

12 - 30

Fast

Medium

Spinning

SLS902MHFS

9'

2

1 - 6

17 - 40

Fast

Medium Heavy

Spinning

SLS1002MHFS

10'

2

1 - 6

17 - 40

Fast

Medium Heavy

Spinning

SLS1102MHFS

11'

2

1 - 6

17 - 40

Fast

Medium Heavy

Spinning

SLS1102HFS

11'

2

2 - 8

20 - 50

Fast

Heavy

Spinning

SLS1202MHFS

12'

2

1 - 6

17 - 40

Fast

Medium Heavy

Spinning

SLS1303MHFS

13'

3

1 - 6

17 - 40

Fast

Medium Heavy

Spinning

SLS1503MHFS

15'

3

1 - 6

17 - 40

Fast

Medium Heavy


* All Sealine Surf Rods specifications from the official Daiwa catalog. Daiwa reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about Daiwa Sealine Surf

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

The lighter series SLS1402LSS

2013-08-20T18:22:57

8/20/2013 6:22:57 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I purchased the 14' because of the ability to cast 10 lb. test and the capability to cast Little Cleo 2/5 oz. spoons in the fall for Chinook Salmon. Great rod FOR A FAIR PRICE with plenty of backbone for fighting the 20-35 lb. Kings that run here!
Reviewed by: Jettycaster (Hamlin, New York)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

excellent rod for money way to go DAIWA

2013-04-12T07:35:01

4/12/2013 7:35:01 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I purchase Daiwa sealine 15' 3pc rod the is all graphite its one of the lightest 15' surf rods you can buy. rods very strong has surprising sensitive tip.used it 8 times last fall caught some nice size bluefish and caught a 17lb catfish off pier handle with no problem .I have this paired up with a tica scepter gx 10000,it cast great excess of 100 yards with no problem very good rod very hard to beat for the money.
Reviewed by: Adock 454 (patuxent maryland)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

Good rod for the money

2012-10-26T23:58:56

10/26/2012 11:58:56 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I bought the 10 footer for beach fishing. Now I don't have to run before casting lol.
I wouldn''t know the durability yet but it seems strong enough.
Reviewed by: Koolaid (San Jose, CA)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

Good value

2012-10-26T23:57:34

10/26/2012 11:57:34 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I was in the market for a surf rod at an affordable price. I've only used it once, so, I can''t give an in depth review other than it is very light and loads up pretty well. Being new to surf rods, I wasn''t used to the long butt section and found it hard to cast. A little research on the Internet and talks with those who regularly cast this type of rod has helped tremendously.
I can see the potential for extremely long casts once I master the right technique. Definitely a good purchase for me.
Reviewed by: SD_Mike (San Diego, Ca)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

gift for my son who loved it

2012-07-10T15:57:23

7/10/2012 3:57:23 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

using it for tiger shark and stingray fishing
Reviewed by: wedgie (Hollister, CA)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

Good rod for the money

2012-07-10T15:56:50

7/10/2012 3:56:50 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I bought the 10 footer for beach fishing. Now I don't have to run before casting lol.. I wouldn't know the durability yet but it seems strong enough.
Reviewed by: Koolaid (San Jose, CA)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

A solid rod that does the job

2012-07-10T15:56:19

7/10/2012 3:56:19 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Worked as expected, strong casting and stable in the holder, easy to work with when retrieving. Tough enough for really big surf fish but still good for smaller catches like Kingfish and Pompano.
Reviewed by: OBXFan (Brevard, NC)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

is very good

2012-07-10T15:55:40

7/10/2012 3:55:40 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

is very very good
Reviewed by: flenix (newyork)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

Nice Rod

2012-07-10T15:55:01

7/10/2012 3:55:01 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I bought two of this rod. They are very nice rods at very reasonable price, strong, durable and light weighted. Glad to have them.
Reviewed by: John (Houston, TX)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

Good rod for the money

2012-07-10T15:54:04

7/10/2012 3:54:04 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

My first conventional surf rod
Light weight and well constructed
Hard to beat for the money
Reviewed by: Marc (Orange.CA)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

Good value

2012-07-10T15:53:31

7/10/2012 3:53:31 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I was in the market for a surf rod at an affordable price. I've only used it once, so, I can't give an in depth review other than it is very light and loads up pretty well. Being new to surf rods, I wasn't used to the long butt section and found it hard to cast. A little research on the internet and talks with those who regularly cast this type of rod has helped tremendously. I can see the potential for extremely long casts once I master the right technique. Definitely a good purchase for me.
Reviewed by: Mike (San Diego, Ca)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

Daiwa,serious company,I would buy again

2012-07-10T15:53:02

7/10/2012 3:53:02 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

good rods!
Reviewed by: toni (Montreal, Canada)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

great

2012-07-09T13:59:15

7/9/2012 1:59:15 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

get the 10 ft rod for surf fishing. love the rod and action and you have a bite know when you b/c the rod tip is great.
Reviewed by: chabs (Northeastern, PA)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

For the price you won''t find better

2012-07-09T13:58:35

7/9/2012 1:58:35 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is a great rod for the price, sure you give up some casting distance and sensitivity over the break away or st. croix rods, but this rod is still an excellent choice on a budget or for those of us that don't fish every day. I have been nothing but pleased and impressed. I paird the 10' sealine with a daiwa giant spinning reel and had a great surf fishing setup for less than $100. you can't beat that price and the performance was good. One tip though, if you need to cast for distance don''t go over 14-17 lb test on the reel.
Reviewed by: ToHatteras (VA)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

Excellent Budget Buy

2012-07-09T13:57:38

7/9/2012 1:57:38 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I have four of the Sealine 10ft surf rods, and use them mainly for fresh water fishing, I have paired them up with Emcast 6000 reels, all purchased at BPS. Excellent value for the price. May not perform as well as a much more expensive rod, but the price you pay for 10% longer cast is not in my budget. The graphite rods show even the slightest of bites, and the fast action of the rods give good solid hook sets. This is especially important when looking for Mr. Catfish.
Reviewed by: KCCOLES (Eastern Kansas)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

Excellent Rod

2012-07-09T13:56:39

7/9/2012 1:56:39 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I was extremely happy with this purchase. I have been surf fishing twice with the rod and it handles beautifully. It is light, well balanced and strong. I have the 10' rod coupled with a Penn Slammer 560 spinning reel. Although the rod can handle up to a 6 oz lure, I was only using 3oz and still getting the cast out about 50 yards even with a 18 mph wind blowing against me.
Reviewed by: KEG55

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

Long Caster

2012-07-09T13:55:41

7/9/2012 1:55:41 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I fish on a river from the shore and need to cast out there pretty far to hit the deeper water so I combined the Daiwa Sport 4500 size spinning reel with this 12' Sealine Rod, 10 lb. Trilene mono line, and can consistently cast 3-5 oz. sinkers 120+ yards (measured) with this combo.
Great rod."
Reviewed by: Augy (Illinois)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

Daiwa Surf Rod

2012-07-09T13:54:50

7/9/2012 1:54:50 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

This is a sturdy rod. I combined it with an Okuma Avenger Baitfeeder 90 and it casts good and looks good. I have yet to land a monster fish with it, but I look forward to and believe this rod will do just fine. The 9 ft. length is a good length for me for distance casting, and does the job with large 6 oz. sinkers and cut bait well. Daiwa makes good stuff and the brand has been around for a long time. I'm sure this rod will last me several years. I would give it five stars but I haven't landed the biggun yet, when I do if it handles well, I will edit this review.
Reviewed by: bradthefisherman (Northeast Texas)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

tough rod

2012-07-09T13:53:33

7/9/2012 1:53:33 PM 3 of 5 stars 3 out of 5 stars

I bought this rod last year and fished stripers and blues all over cape cod with it. I have a penn battle 6000 on it, and it was a sturdy setup. your not going to throw anything across the cape cod canal with it , but for the money its a good stick.I used it at least 5 nights a week and caught countless good fish. if you don't want to spend the big bucks till get you by. your not going to be able to throw under two ounces and feel good about yourself is the reason i gave it three stars. too beefy.
Reviewed by: capecodBIGFISH (mass)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

Great rod

2012-07-09T13:52:19

7/9/2012 1:52:19 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Great quality for the price. i have two 9' and two 12'.
Reviewed by: hopefulhi (Honolulu, HI)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

2012-07-07T09:23:40

7/7/2012 9:23:40 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Nicest surf rod I have gotten in the ten years since my favorite got broken.(teething German Shepard pup,not a fish).
Reviewed by: snugpop (Easton,PA)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

What you get is what you paid for

2012-07-07T09:22:41

7/7/2012 9:22:41 AM 2 of 5 stars 2 out of 5 stars

For the overall workmanship, it is good for the price.
Recently bought the 10 ft, 2-pcs model, and keeping the 2-sections together was fun. Especially out there in the surf with 5-7 ft walls of waves coming at you.
Care should be taken while joining the 2 sections together. If not, the short connecting length of the forward section would just keep sliding/slipping down inside the main handle blank. You would now have to wiggle it back up to just the right tightness, so very carefully. There's no stops inside the blank for a correct join, or a notch or a wedge to tell you that for the forward section is now properly seated in place. You will have to "guess feel" if the connection is right.
During a recent session, the forward section of this 2-pc rod flew off (it happens) during a cast if the sections weren't seated properly together. It's hard to get the forward section properly seated again for the next cast, especially when you are preoccupied with evasive maneuvers and trying to save your sorry cheeks from drowning.
Reviewed by: Davids (Seattle, Washington)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

GOOD ROD FOR THE MONEY

2012-07-07T09:21:15

7/7/2012 9:21:15 AM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

MEDIUM HEAVY MEANS PRETTY STIFF
Reviewed by: gor4844 (NJ)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

10'' Surf rod

2012-07-07T09:20:29

7/7/2012 9:20:29 AM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

Priced right. Good rod for the money.
Reviewed by: wvhiker

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

Nice Rod

2012-07-07T09:19:33

7/7/2012 9:19:33 AM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I purchased the 15' a few weeks ago. I use a long rod when jigging for Blues and Spanish off a pier. This rod didn't disappoint. Could only fish one day, but I caught my limit of Spanish and the rod performed very well. The only thing I would suggest is to fit the three pieces together before going fishing to try out the fit. I wound up sanding down the rubber butt of the tip section. It was too tight a fit and if I had forced it I would have had a very hard time taking the rod apart. But I would advise that with any rod, it has happened to me before. All in all a good sturdy rod that won't disappoint.
Reviewed by: pierfisher (Surfside Beach, South Carolina)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

2012-07-07T09:18:33

7/7/2012 9:18:33 AM 3 of 5 stars 3 out of 5 stars

I have a half dozen of the Daiwa Sealine X and these new (and cheaper models) do not have the same top quality guides. With heavy use and constant washing, they began to rust after one season. Some of my X models are over 7 years old with no corrosion on the guides.
Reviewed by: ChicodaMan (Punta Gorda, FL)

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

What happened to the Sealines?

2012-07-07T09:17:28

7/7/2012 9:17:28 AM 2 of 5 stars 2 out of 5 stars

I have 4 Sealine X surf rods, two 9 feet, one 10 feet, and an 11-footer, and never head for the striper surf without all 4. Just bought a new 9-foot Sealine for a friend to use casting lures like I do with one of my 9-footers. I will be sending it back. What happened to the quality? Also this pole is way stiffer than ANY of my Sealine X rods which is the main reason for the return. Was not shopping for a broomstick.
Reviewed by: Surfster

 
Daiwa Sealine Surf

I?m surprised with this rod

2012-07-07T09:16:30

7/7/2012 9:16:30 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I bought one of them in 9 ft, is a great rod for fishing, is very lightweight and has good sensitivity, an excellent rod and has an affordable price.
Reviewed by: pepetoache (Veracruz, M?xico)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the Daiwa Sealine Surf Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: