Search

Fenwick :: Silverhawk

 

Fenwick Silverhawk

Overall Customer Rating: 4.25 of 5 stars Fenwick Silverhawk Rods 4.25 out of 5 (16 Reviews)
Manufacturer: Fenwick
Series: Fenwick
Model: Silverhawk

Fenwick Silverhawk models

Spin/Cast Model Length Pieces Lure Weight (oz.) Line Weight Action Power Type Rod Weight (oz.)

Casting

SHC66MH

6'6"

1

3/8 - 3/4

10 - 20

Medium Fast

Medium Heavy

Casting

SHC70M

7'

1

1/4 - 5/8

8 - 17

Fast

Medium

Casting

SHC70MH

7'

1

3/8 - 3/4

10 - 20

Medium Fast

Medium Heavy

Spinning

SHS66ML-2

6'6"

2

1/8 - 1/2

6 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

Spinning

SHS66M

6'6"

1

1/4 - 5/8

6 - 12

Medium Fast

Medium

Spinning

SHS66M-2

6'6"

2

1/4 - 5/8

6 - 12

Medium Fast

Medium

Spinning

SHS70ML

7'

1

1/8 - 1/2

6 - 10

Fast

Medium Light

Spinning

SHS70M

7'

1

1/4 - 5/8

6 - 12

Medium Fast

Medium

Spinning

SHS70M-2

7'

2

1/4 - 5/8

6 - 12

Medium Fast

Medium


* All Silverhawk Rods specifications from the official Fenwick catalog. Fenwick reserves the right to make changes without obligation.


 

Fishermen's opinions about Fenwick Silverhawk

 
Fenwick Silverhawk

N/A

2013-04-27T14:59:31

4/27/2013 2:59:31 PM

Shame,on you for not making the Silverhawk 6'6 ML Spinning Rod in a ONE PIECE MODEL! Almost all of my fishermen friends and myself use one piece rods and not those silly 2 piece models that either come apart, and or just don't feel right pieces of junk.

I'm really ticked that you guys don't make a ML in 1 piece!
This is ridiculous.
Darryl
Reviewed by: Darryl Shelton (Chicago, IL)

 
Fenwick Silverhawk

Good Rod for the price

2012-12-24T06:15:02

12/24/2012 6:15:02 AM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Pretty good rod (6'6"ML), but some unknowns:
Cabela states it's a 30 ton blank (IM6), but manufacturer tag says IM10.
Cabela states it's 6.4 oz for both 6'6" and 7'. This makes no sense as a 7' should weight more. Also the one I have feels more like a 5.? oz.
Finally it is way more sensitive than an ugly stik. I own 3 Ugly Stiks and they are only good for durability (useful for Catfish)-very strong, spongy and heavy. Don't worry, these rods are nothing like that. I would say it's between a HMG and HMX. 5 stars at $40, 3 stars at $99.
Reviewed by: Bassman (Wisconsin)

 
Fenwick Silverhawk

Trout fear the Silverhawk

2012-11-10T16:29:37

11/10/2012 4:29:37 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

I bought the 2 piece light version model (SHS66L-2), this past April, let me tell you this rod delivers. I've lost count over how many rainbows I've landed at my local lake.
This rod is just like it's namesake, swoops in quietly like a hawk, and exits with an eruption of fish on the end of your line!
Reviewed by: CaliFloridaAngler (San Anselmo CA)

 
Fenwick Silverhawk

only one way out and broke the union

2012-11-09T16:28:57

11/9/2012 4:28:57 PM 1 of 5 stars 1 out of 5 stars

It is perhaps the weakest stick I bought all my records, the first output with a fish of 4 pounds and broke in half, right at the junction, on the same output I used similar poles as shimano "compre", Daiwa "Beef-Stick", etc. captured larger fish ta?ano and functioned properly.
Expected much more from Fenweek, because it had references to be the best rod in the world, but in my case was the worst.
Reviewed by: canojovan

 
Fenwick Silverhawk

Plenty of rod

2012-11-08T16:28:08

11/8/2012 4:28:08 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

7' one piece ML - Bought it for a worm rod- took it out first evening -sensitive , throws long , feels good , sets hook and fights like a med . Handled a 19' largemouth with ease. Actually thought it was a smaller fish till it broke water. Plenty of power in the butt, more med than light.
Reviewed by: AHawgHunter (United States, Ohio)

 
Fenwick Silverhawk

Handle

2012-11-07T16:27:12

11/7/2012 4:27:12 PM 3 of 5 stars 3 out of 5 stars

The rod is very well made, blank, guides, etc., however the designer made a mistake with the handle. The threads for the reel seat fall on your thumb (the collar threads from the top rather than from the bottom as on most rods). You will need to tape over the threads if you plan on fishing with this rod all day.
Reviewed by: FishDisease

 
Fenwick Silverhawk

Fenwick 6.6 M 2 piece. Nice action

2012-11-05T16:26:40

11/5/2012 4:26:40 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

The rod is a nice design 8 eyelets a solid reel seat, high end blank with a comfortable cork handle and a the hook keep on the rod. The color looks good with any reel. This is an old stand by name and Fenwick hasn't failed me yet.
Reviewed by: Rlock (United States)

 
Fenwick Silverhawk

Nice rod

2012-11-04T16:25:45

11/4/2012 4:25:45 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

very nice rod for the money, have owned a lot of fenwick rods over the years and the quality of the new fenwicks are almost as good as the old ones
Reviewed by: funfishin (Washington)

 
Fenwick Silverhawk

Smooth

2012-11-03T16:24:58

11/3/2012 4:24:58 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This rod is light but has good body. The responsiveness makes the lure go a long way. I like the long handle which helps when I'm casting and putting pressure on the fish.
Reviewed by: Nautico (Hawaii)

 
Fenwick Silverhawk

Not bad

2012-11-02T16:24:20

11/2/2012 4:24:20 PM 3 of 5 stars 3 out of 5 stars

This is not a bad rod. It is relatively light and the action is firm, but not stiff.
The problem I had with the rod is that the reel seat works with the threads in front of the reel and the movable part of the seat tightens backwards towards the butt of the rod. Most of my other rods tighten forward. This, in itself, is not a problem, but this method leaves the threads exposed at the place where I place my thumb. After casting for awhile my thumb rubbing on the threads began to feel like it was getting a blister. (Imagine rubbing your thumb on the threads of a metal bolt for a period of time.) I eventually started to use the rod with spoons and spinners and casting two handed - distance rather than accuracy. This stopped my thumb from rubbing on the threads.
If you grip the rod like a baseball bat, or always cast two handed it would not be a problem.
Reviewed by: IFish

 
Fenwick Silverhawk

Sensitive!

2012-11-01T16:23:31

11/1/2012 4:23:31 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Bought this in a 6'6" version for jigging Walleye. The IM10 blank is really sensitive. The fast action will set hooks with no problem. I caught a 7 lb. walleye and hooked into a 25 lb. padlefish this weekend with it and had no problems with the rod at all.
Reviewed by: HuskerHunter (Nebraska)

 
Fenwick Silverhawk

Good Quality Rod

2012-10-22T16:22:23

10/22/2012 4:22:23 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I've been using Fenwick rods for years now, mostly the HMX and HMG models. Saw these on sale and thought I would give it a try. Well built and great action. Have caught a few fish and it performed well. Only reason I didn't give 5 stars was because it hasn't been tested on a big fish...YET! I have no doubt it will handle it though.
Fenwick makes a great product.
Reviewed by: NHBass (New Hampshire)

 
Fenwick Silverhawk

great price on a very good rod

2012-10-22T16:21:43

10/22/2012 4:21:43 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

I ordered a 7' Silverhawk M rod and like it so well I am going to order another 7' and a 6'6" one.
Has great action.
Reviewed by: doggie (colubus, MS)

 
Fenwick Silverhawk

Great Rod

2011-11-22T16:20:38

11/22/2011 4:20:38 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

Great rod for the price. I have used many different brands, and have other rods that I think are easily the equal of this rod. None of them however are the equal of this rod for the price.
I use 30 lb Suffix braid (with 12 lb test Berkley Gold flouro for leader) on a 6'6 MH Fenwick rod with a Shimano Cruxis baitcaster.
I feel every nick and bump with this combo. I never have to worry about setting the hook with this rod either.
Good feel, and the meat to set a monster.
Reviewed by: ToledoGreg (Toledo, OH)

 
Fenwick Silverhawk

Good value!

2011-11-22T16:18:17

11/22/2011 4:18:17 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

This rod needs one more guide in my opinion. However, at the sale price it is a very good value. The blank is as sensitive as some rods I have that were up to $50 more at retail. Looks good and fishes the same.
Reviewed by: Masterpiker (United States, Oklahoma)

 
Fenwick Silverhawk

Great Deal

2011-09-18T16:19:43

9/18/2011 4:19:43 PM 5 of 5 stars 5 out of 5 stars

This is a good rod for a great price.
I've already landed 2 King salmon with it on the river.
Reviewed by: wannafishalot (United States, California)

 
Fenwick Silverhawk

Walleye Rod

2011-07-05T16:19:05

7/5/2011 4:19:05 PM 4 of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars

Good rod - not as sensitive as an ugly stick but very dependable.
Works well
Reviewed by: MetaLake (United States, Michigan)

 
Using the 5 star rating system how would you recommend the Fenwick Silverhawk Rods?
5 Star Strongly
4 Star Highly
3 Star Moderately
2 Star Somewhat
1 Star Not At All
Name:

Location:


Title:

Msg: